<body><script type="text/javascript"> function setAttributeOnload(object, attribute, val) { if(window.addEventListener) { window.addEventListener('load', function(){ object[attribute] = val; }, false); } else { window.attachEvent('onload', function(){ object[attribute] = val; }); } } </script> <div id="navbar-iframe-container"></div> <script type="text/javascript" src="https://apis.google.com/js/plusone.js"></script> <script type="text/javascript"> gapi.load("gapi.iframes:gapi.iframes.style.bubble", function() { if (gapi.iframes && gapi.iframes.getContext) { gapi.iframes.getContext().openChild({ url: 'https://www.blogger.com/navbar.g?targetBlogID\x3d6390303\x26blogName\x3dStix+Blog\x26publishMode\x3dPUBLISH_MODE_BLOGSPOT\x26navbarType\x3dSILVER\x26layoutType\x3dCLASSIC\x26searchRoot\x3dhttp://stix1972.blogspot.com/search\x26blogLocale\x3den_US\x26v\x3d2\x26homepageUrl\x3dhttp://stix1972.blogspot.com/\x26vt\x3d2710463138340235647', where: document.getElementById("navbar-iframe-container"), id: "navbar-iframe" }); } }); </script>

Thursday, September 23, 2004

Zell Miller to Get Reagan Award

I congratulate Zell Miller on geting this award. He deserves it.
Wednesday, Sept. 22, 2004 8:58 p.m. EDT

Zell Miller to Get Reagan Award

It was announced Wednesday that Sen. Zell Miller will receive the second annual Ronald Reagan Award given by Frontiers of Freedom Institute.

Frontiers is a non-profit, non-partisan public policy organization dedicated to protecting the constitutional rights of all Americans and restoring constitutional limits on the extent and power of government. The group was founded and is currently chaired by retired United States Senator Malcolm Wallop, R-Wyo.

"We are honored that Sen. Miller has agreed to accept this award bearing the name of an American hero," Wallop said. He added that the selection was made prior to the death of the former president, but Wednesday's announcement was held in deference to the historic funeral. "It was appropriate to wait," Wallop concluded. "And now we look forward to an outstanding evening of honoring two great men." "Much like the award's namesake," said FOF president, George Landrith, "Senator Miller has become a hero to millions of Americans for standing up for what he believes in, regardless the price. We think the late, great President Reagan would be thrilled with this selection."

Sen. Miller's term ends in January 2005 and he will not seek re-election. The native Georgian has served in elective office in six different decades, beginning with mayor of his hometown of Young Harris, Ga., in the late 1950s.

When he arrived at the U.S. Senate to serve the remaining four years of the late Sen. Paul Coverdell's term, Miller became only the third Georgian - following Richard B. Russell and Herman Talmadge - to serve as both governor and senator. Sen. Miller also serves as chairman of Democrats for Bush. He will campaign for President Bush in the fall.

Attendees at the dinner bestowing the award were expected to include friends and supporters of Sen. Miller: over 25 members of Congress; radio host Neal Boortz; former Reagan administration officials; various policy makers and opinion leaders; and last year's award winner, Grover Norquist. Norquist is president of Americans for Tax Reform and founder of the Reagan Legacy Project.

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home